Democrats panel wins KPC election | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Pakistan Press Foundation

Democrats panel wins KPC election

Pakistan Press Foundation

KARACHI: The Democrats panel clean swept in the Karachi Press Club’s election as its candidates Fazil Jameeli and A H Khanzada were elected as President and Secretary, respectively.

Two panels – the Democrats and Progressive – were in the run this year. According to results announced by the election committee, Fazil Jameeli secured 558 votes beating Anwar Sen Roy, who secured 374 votes. A H Khanzada bagged 541 votes elected as Secretary against Ayub Jan Sarhandi, who secured 251 votes. Nawab Qureshi elected vice president of the KPC while Mohammad Rizwan Bhatti elected as Joint Secretary by securing 568 votes against Fasahat Mohiuddin, who secured 278 votes. Mohammad Hanif Akbar elected as Treasurer. Agha Syed Karam Ali Shah of APP, Tariq Abul Hassan of Geo News, Hina Mah Gul of The News, Kafeeluddin Faizan of Daily Naibat, Siddique Chaudhry of Daily Nai Dunya, Sajjad Abbasi of Daily Ummat and Manzoor Chandio of Daily Dawn were elected as members of governing body of KPC.

Meanwhile, President Karachi Union of Journalists (Dastoor) Afsar Imran and Secretary Shoiab Ahmed felicitated the newly-elected elected governing body of KPC. They hoped that the new KPC body would work for the welfare of the journalist community and freedom of press and speech.

Business Recorder