Multan Press Club (MPC) elects office-bearers -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Multan Press Club (MPC) elects office-bearers

MULTAN- The Election Committee, Multan Press Club (MPC) finally announced the overall result of elections after some former members of the MPC who had challenged cancellation of their membership withdrew their suits from a civil court here.

Membership of some 70 persons was cancelled by the MPC out of which some filed suits in the court to use their right to vote.

According to the results, Rao Waseem Asghar from the Press and the Journalist panel was elected as the new MPC president by taking 64 votes, while his rival candidates former president MPC Ghazanfar Ali Shahi and former Secretary General Nazar Baloch took 53 votes each.

Two seats of vice presidents were clinched by Tariq Nazir Chaudhry (66 votes) and Sheikh Saleem Naz (57 votes) both from Newsmen panel (Shahi Group). Besides newsmen panel (Shahi Group) also won seats of General Secretary, Mazhar Javed (59 votes) and Finance Secretary, Arshad Ali Qureshi (72 votes).

Other contestants on seat of general secretary Razi ud Din Razi from newsmen panel and Chaudhry Saleem from the press plus journalists panel scored 56 and 54 votes respectively.

Shahid Basheer from the Press and journalist panel was elected as joint secretary by scoring 73 votes.

On 18 seats of the executive body, Shakeel Anjum remained the highest scorer who took 96 votes. Other members included Rana Jamshed Ali (83 votes), Rasheed Arshad Saleemi (82 votes), Shadab Anwar (79 votes), Syed Ghazanfar Mehmood (74 votes), Sajjad Khokhar (73 votes), Iqbal Hiraj (72 votes), Zaheer Kamal (71 votes), Israr Chishti (70 votes), Waseem Bin Ashraf (70 votes), Rehan lqbal Barni (68 votes), Raza Malik (67 votes), Azam Jehangir (67 votes), Syed Asghar Zaidi (66 votes), Syed Zulfiqar Shah (66 votes), Kamran Habib (66 votes), Mehmood Abroad (66 votes) and Khalil Bhatti (65 votes).

Source: Business Recorder