Democrats' panel sweeps Karachi Press Club election -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Democrats’ panel sweeps Karachi Press Club election

KARACHI: The Democrats won the Karachi Press Club elections for 2013 on Saturday with heavy majority.

According to the results announced by the election commission, Imtiaz Khan Faran of daily Awam was elected president with 521 votes. His rival, G.M. Jamali (daily Express), who was a candidate of the Green panel and The Panel, got 387 votes.

Saeed Sarbazi of Business Recorder was elected vice-president with 502 votes, followed by Khursheed Abbassi of daily Awam with 402 votes.

Amir Latif of Online News Network was elected secretary with 582 votes, defeating Faisal Aziz Khan (Geo News) who bagged 318 votes. Arman Sabir of BBC Radio was elected treasurer with 559 votes, followed by Ataullah Abro of Nawa-i-Waqt (327). Shams Kerio of daily Aaino was elected joint secretary with 580 votes, followed by Kashif Hussain of ARY News (319).

Hina Mahgul (616 votes), Asif Jiaja (577), Javed Chaudhry (547), Ramzan Chandio (522), Jamshed Gul Bukhari (520), Imdad Soomro (507) and Kashif Farooqi (497) were elected members of the governing body.


Post Tagged with