Remaining RTI commissioners appointed

Pakistan Press Foundation

The two remaining commissioners of the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) Right to Information (RTI) Commission were appointed on Monday. According to a handout issued by the K-P Public Relations and Culture Department, under Section 24 of the RTI Act 2013, Abdul Mateen and Professor Kalimullah had been appointed as RTI commissioners with immediate effect. “The two commissioners shall hold office for a term of three years from the date on which they take office or till they attain the age of 65 whichever is earlier,” the handout read. It added that the officers will not be eligible for reappointment.

The RTI law was signed by the governor in November, 2013 and the RTI commission had to be established within 120 days of the enactment of the law. Even though the chief information commissioner was appointed on December 6, the delay in the appointment of the other two had been delaying the formation of the RTI Commission.

Express Tribune

Comments are closed.