Journalist Panel wins NPC elections Listen | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Journalist Panel wins NPC elections Listen

Pakistan Press Foundation

ISLAMABAD: Tariq Mehmood Chaudhry has been elected as President and Shakeel Anjum General Secretary in the National Press Club (NPC) elections 2018 held on Saturday.

The Journalist Panel has won over Azad Panel in National Press Club (NPC) in elections 2018, secured consecutive splendid victory for last 10 years. Newly elected President National Press Club (NPC) Tariq Mehmood Chaudhry secured 989 votes and Shakeel Anjum won seat of General Secretary with 1225 huge votes respectively. Azad Panels contender for president Shakeel Qarar secured 978 votes.

The Journalist Panel had made one change in the team which won last election, bringing Asif Bashir Chaudhry (Senior VP), Bilal Dar and Khawaja Kashif Rafique, as new members who won the seat of senior vice and vice-presidents by securing 1074, 1030 and 989 votes and defeated Salman Qazi, Sabookh Syed and Imran Chaudhry.

Myra Imran from “The News” secured 943 votes and wins over her opponent Mishal Bukhari. As same Nausheen Yousaf won the seat of Finance Secretary and Secured 1013 votes. On the seat of Joint Secretaries Abid Abbasi elected as Senior Joint Secretary and secured 1219 votes as Nadeem Chaudhry, Fouzia Kalsoom Rana and Dasstar Ali Shah won their seats by securing 938, 1089, and 922 votes.

As same Journalist Panel won all 17 seats of governing body including Abbas Naqvi who secured 1133, Ahtshamul Haq 1086, Abdul Waheed Janjua 1084, Alamzeb 1081, Waseem Sajjad 1040, Sardar Hameed 1019, Raja Kashif Ishfaq 1018, Mudassir Iqbal Ch. 1011, Mansoor Ahmed 984, Qazi Zyad 977, Jhangir Aslam 975, Rana Kausar Ali 967, Rashid Malik 974, Shaukat Ch. 913, Syed Shah Ali Azam 876, Shazia Nayyar 935, Saima A Bhatti 836.

The elections, however, were held in a peaceful manner and all contesting panels and candidates fully cooperated with the NPC Election Committee led by Nasir Zaidi.

The News