All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS) elections -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS) elections

KARACHI- Hameed Haroon of Dawn Group of Publications and Kazi Asad Abid of Ibrat Group has been elected respectively as President and Secretary-General of All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS).

According to an APNS press release, the newly elected Executive Committee, which held its first meeting, also elected Zia Shahid of daily Khabrain as Senior Vice-President, Pir Sufaid Shah Hamdard of daily Wehdat as Vice President, Mohammad Aslam Kazi of daily Kawish as Joint Secretary and Mushtaq Qureshi of monthly Naey Ufaq as Finance Secretary for the year 2001.

At the annual general meeting chaired by the outgoing president, Mir Shakil-ur-Rehman, the General Council adopted Annual Report of the Executive Committee for the preceding year after full-length deliberations as well as annual account of the Society. The General Council, attended by members from across the country, formed an election Commission headed by Mahmud-ul-Aziz (Pictorial News Review) with Yousuf Shaheen (Pakistan Times) and Seham Mirza (Dosheeza monthly) as members.

The Election Commission upon completion of the polls announced the following results. Karachi dailies (six seats): Awami Awaz, Aghaz, Business Recorder, Dawn, Jasarat and Qaumi Akhbar; Lahore dailies (six seats): Jang, Khabrain, Musawat, Nawa-e-Waqt, Pakistan and Tijarat; Rawalpindi/Islamabad dailies (two seats): Wifaq (Rawalpindi) and Sahafat; Punjab dailies excluding Lahore, Rawalpindi and Islamabad (three seats): Aftab (Multan), Business Report (Faisalabad) and Paigham (Faisalabad); Sindh excluding Karachi (two seats): Kaleem (Sukkur) and Kawish (Hyderabad); Frontier dailies (two seats): Jehad (Peshawar) and Wehdat (Peshawar); Balochistan dailies (two seats): Mashriq (Quetta) and Balochistan Times (Quetta); Periodicals (four seats): fortnightly Ibrat (Hyderabad), monthly Naey Ufaq (Karachi), monthly Kiran (Karachi) and monthly The Cricketer (Karachi); News & News Comments (Sindh/ Balochistan; one seat): monthly Rohani Digest (Karachi); News & News Comments (Punjab/Frontier; one seat); monthly Shahrag-e-Pakistan (Lahore); News & News Comments (General; one seat): monthly Investment & Marketing Karachi.
Source: The News