Wali Babar murder suspects sent to jail -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Wali Babar murder suspects sent to jail

Karachi: The administrative judge of Anti-Terrorism Courts in Karachi on Monday sent the suspects charged with the murder of Geo TV reporter Wali Khan Babar to jail and directed the investigation officer to submit a charge-sheet against them.

Mohammad Shahrukh, 22, Faisal Mehmood, 43, Mohammad Shakeel, 42, Syed Tahir Naveed Shah, 32, and Syed Mohammad Ali Rizvi, 38, were arrested for allegedly murdering the Geo TV reporter in January this year. Police said that the suspects were arrested from Gulshan-e-Iqbal area after a shootout and during interrogation they confessed their involvement in the murder of Geo TV Reporter Wali Khan Babar. Investigation officer submitted that identification parade of the suspects had been conducted while one suspect Shahrukh has recorded his confessional statement before the judicial magistrate and he was already sent to jail after the statement.

AJ Justice Maqbool Baqar, sending the other suspects to jail, directed the IO to submit the charge-sheet against them by April 25. Geo TV reporter was shot dead on January 13 this year near Super Market area in Liaquatabad. The case has been registered at Super Market police station under murder and terrorism charges. Liaquat Ali, Faisal, Asad, Nasir, Kamran, Saeed Commando and other co-accused were still at large.

Hizb ut Tehrir activists remanded: The AJ remanded seven activists of banned Hizb ut Tehrir to police custody who were booked for holding anti-government protest demonstration in Saddar area on Sunday.

Police had arrested as many as seven activists of Hizbul Tehrir, including Waqas, Arshad and Rafiq, from Regal Chowk while they were holding anti-government demonstration. Police alleged that the activists of banned Hizb ut Tehrir were holding protest demonstration in the limits of Preedy police station despite the fact that their organization had been banned by the government. The case was registered against them under Section 11-W of Anti Terrorism Act.
Source: The News