Police suspect journalist was attacked at behest of SNF leaders -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Police suspect journalist was attacked at behest of SNF leaders

HYDERABAD: Investigations into the attempt at murdering senior journalist Mohammad Hussain Khan have been started and police suspect that the attack on Dec 31 was carried out at the behest of the Sindh National Front (SNF) leadership.

Police investigation points out that the SNF secretary general had directed the attack.

The injured journalist, being treated at a private hospital for the last three days, also claimed in his statement to the police that he was asked by SNF’s Secretary General Ayoub Shar that a clarification should be carried regarding the remarks of SNF chief Mumtaz Bhutto about the signing of the NFC Award in 1997.

The secretary general also complained to former revenue minister Dr Irfan Gul Magsi that his party chief was not happy with the report appearing in a newspaper. Mumtaz Bhutto had visited the residence of Magsi on the demise of his father to offer condolence and talked to the media. The clarification was not issued by the party. However, the clarification by the reporter was published and an SMS was also sent to Ayoub Shar informing him about the clarification.

But the journalist was attacked on Thursday afternoon by two unknown persons.

According to the police record, the injured journalist recorded his supplementary statement in the presence of President Hyderabad Press Club Mahesh Kumar, General Secretary Hameedur Rehman and former president Hamid Shaikh.

When contacted, SPO, Cantonment, Nawaz Arain, told The News that investigations were under way and Ayoub Shar would be interrogated about the attack.

Leader of Opposition in the Sindh Assembly Jam Madad Ali phoned the injured journalist and assured him that the matter would be taken up at the next session of the provincial assembly. He condemned the incident.

Saleem Zia and Imdad Chandio of the PML-N, Senator Khalid Mahmood Soomro, Senator Maula Bux Chandio, Amar Sindhi, Zulfiqar Halepoto, Aijaz Qureshi, and Qurban Chohan, advocate, and others also condemned the attack.

MNA Faryal Talpur and provincial home minister Dr Zulfiqar Mirza also sent bouquets.

Meanwhile, journalists observed a token hunger strike outside the Hyderabad Press Club, led by the president of the press club and other senior journalists, against the attack. They chanted slogans and demanded immediate arrest of the culprits. They vowed to continue the boycott of the party activities.

Source: The News