KUJ elects Green Panel as office-bearers -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

KUJ elects office-bearers

Pakistan Press Foundation

KARACHI: The Green Panel swept the Karachi Union of Journalists (KUJ) elections for 2016-2017. S. Hassan Abbas was elected president with a majority vote of 796 of the 838 polled in the elections held on Saturday. His rival Rafiq Ahmed Shaikh polled 27 votes.

Wajid Raza Isfahani was elected general secretary and Zaheer Ahmed Khan and Aijaz Ahmed as vice presidents unopposed. For the post of joint secretary Lubna Jerar and Naseem Rajput and for Treasurer Nasir Sharif were also elected unopposed.

A 10-member executive council of the KUJ was also elected.

They are Ghulam Akbar Jafri, Ghulam Mustafa Aziz, Imran Zakir, Ishaque Baloch, M Azeem, M Salahuddin, Mohammad Ali Hafeez, S Mazhar Abbas, Shazia Khan and Zamir Hassan.