Burney elected unopposed as advisor to UNHRC -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Burney elected unopposed as advisor to UNHRC

LAHORE (March 31 2008): The renowned human rights activist Ansar Burney Advocate is receiving congratulation messages from all over the world on his unopposed election as member of the United Nations Human Rights Council’s Advisory Committee based in Geneva.

Ansar Burney said every day he is receiving emails, SMS messages, telephone calls and fax messages from around the globe of congratulations on his selection in United Nations. He said I would like thank to all of them for their messages and kind support. The Pakistani human rights activist and former Federal Minister for Human Rights, Ansar Burney, has been elected unopposed as a member of the newly established United Nations Human Rights Council Advisory Committee based in Geneva.

In accordance with United Nations Human Rights Council resolution 5/1 of 18 June 2007, the Human Rights Council Advisory Committee, elected 18 human rights activists from around the world by secret ballot. A senior Lawyer and member of the International Bar association (UK) and American Bar Association (USA) Ansar Burney has been elected unopposed for a term of three years as one of the members from Asia.

The Humanan Rights Council on Sunday elected 18 experts to make up its new Advisory Committee. The Council also approved candidates for its Special Procedures on the right to adequate housing, the right to food, human rights of indigenous people, sale of children, effects of economic reform policies, human rights in Myanmar, human rights in the Palestinian territories, human rights and extreme poverty, contemporary forms of slavery, arbitrary detention, enforced disappearances, people of African descent, human rights in Somalia and human rights defenders.

The Advisory Committee replaces the former Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights. Functioning as a think-thank, the Committee will provide the Council with expertise and advice and conduct substantive research and studies on thematic issues of interest, at the Council’s request.

The number of candidates in three regional groups corresponded to the numbers of seats available in each of these groups; consequently those members were elected by the Council without a ballot.

These were, from the African Group: Mona Zulficar (Egypt),. Bernards Andrews Nyamwaya Mudho (Kenya),. Dheerujlall Seetulsingh (Mauritius), Halima Embarek Warzazi (Morocco) and. Baba Kura Kaigama (Nigeria). From the Asian Group: Shiqiu Chen (China),. Shigeki Sakamoto (Japan), Ansar Ahmed Burney (Pakistan), Purificacion V. Quisumbing (Philippines) and Chung Chinsung (Republic of Korea). From the Latin American and Caribbean States:. Miguel Alfonso Mart’nez (Cuba), Jos Antonio Bengoa Cabello (Chile) and. Hctor Felipe Fix Fierro (Mexico).

With regard to the candidates from the Eastern European Group and the Group of Western European and Other States, the Council conducted an election in secret ballot.

The two candidates elected from the Eastern European Group were: Vladimir Kartashkin (Russian Federation) with 42 votes and Latif Hseynov (Azerbaijan) with 30 votes. The three members elected from the Western European and Others Group were: Jean Ziegler (Switzerland) with 40 votes, Wolfgang Stefan Heinz (Germany) with 24 votes and. Emmanuel Decaux (France) with 24 votes.
Source: Business Recorder