All Pakistan Newspapers Society hopes Sindh government will clear dues by Nov 15 -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

All Pakistan Newspapers Society hopes Sindh government will clear dues by Nov 15

KARACHI: The All Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS) expressed its confidence that the Sindh government will abide by its commitment to clear the reported dues of member publications by November 15, 2012, says a press release of the APNS on Tuesday.

The APNS Sindh Provincial Committee held its meeting Tuesday that was presided over by its Chairman, Kazi Asad Abid, noted that the Sindh government has partially paid to member publications before Eid being the first installment as assured by the Sindh Information Department and hoped that the last installment of balance amount will be paid by the promised date of November 15, 2012.

The Sindh Provincial Committee through a resolution, urged upon the concerned authorities to ensure that the commitment is honoured in letter and spirit.

The Committee also discussed in detail a draft media policy to be presented to Sindh government as desired by Sharjeel Inam Memon, Minister for Sindh Information and finalized its recommendations. The draft will soon be sent for the consideration of Sindh Information.

The Committee also considered the applications for associate membership and formed a sub-committee headed by Ilyas Shakir including Dr Jabbar Khattak and Ali Hasan Naqvi to examine the authenticity of the applicant publications.

Meanwhile, the members condoled the sad demise of the wife of Younus Riaz and prayed that Almighty Allah may rest her soul in peace. The members also prayed for the health and early recovery of Saeed Khawar, Mahmood-ul-Aziz, Siddiq Baloch and the wife of Muhammad Aslam Kazi.

The meeting was attended by Sarmad Ali, President, Masood Hamid, Secretary General and the following members:

Kazi Asad Abid, Chairman, Sindh Provincial Committee, Ilyas Shakir, Alternate Chairman, Aijaz-ul-Haq, Anwar Farooqui, Ghulam Nabi Chandio, Dr. Jabbar Khattak, Minhaj Kazmi, Mukhtar Aqil, Adnan Malik, Najamuddin Sheikh, Ameer M Shaikh, Syed Hamid Hussain Abedi, Zahida Abbasi, Usman Arab Saati and Ghulam Rabbani.

Kazi Mustafa Asad Abbasi, Aamer Mahmood and Ali Hasan Naqvi attended the meeting as special observers.

The News