Unification of all PFUJ factions agreed | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Pakistan Press Foundation

Unification of all PFUJ factions agreed

Pakistan Press Foundation

ISLAMABAD: Representatives of all the three factions of Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ) have agreed to unite all the groups. The decision was taken at a meeting of the Reunification Committee held here on Wednesday, says a press release.

The committee consists of senior journalists I A Rahman, Hussain Naqi, M Ziauddin, Nasir Zaidi, Khawar Naeem Hashmi and Idrees Bakhtiar.The representatives of the three factions, Afzal Butt, Pervez Shoukat and Idrees Bakhtiar, signed a memorandum of understanding to unite the three factions. Rana Azeem and Amin Yusuf were also taken on board via phone. The matter will be taken to the respective Federal Executive Council of the various factions for final approval by August 25. The Reunification Committee will again meet on Aug 30 to announce the final decision and suggest the future strategy of unification.

The meeting was also attended by senior journalists Farooq Faisal Khan, Khursheed Abbasi, Mazhar Abbas, Arshad Ansari, Shafiq Awan and Nisar Abbas who also contributed their valued suggestions for resolving the disputes.

It is for the first time that after a long period of 36 years, the various factions of PFUJ sat together and resolved to unite the journalists organisation in the interests of working journalists and freedom of the Press.

The News