The News bags best photographer award -
Pakistan Press Foundation

The News bags best photographer award

KARACHI- Chief Executive General Pervaiz Musharraf, amid thunderous applause, handed over the first All Pakistan Newspaper Society’s (APNS) ‘Best Personality of the Millennium Award’ to SH Hashmi, Managing Director of Orient MeCann-Erickson, at an impressive ceremony.

Hashmi has been selected for the award, announced on February 21, on the basis of his ideal relationship with the newspaper community, faithful efforts for print media, struggle to enhance the image of advertising in Pakistan and for his contribution to education, community and social development. In the past, he has received numerous other awards from presidents and prime ministers of Pakistan.

The Government of Pakistan has also given Hashmi the Pride of Performance award for his valuable contribution in the field of Advertising. He is also the vice-president of the Arts Council of Pakistan. The chief executive gave away the 15th APNS Awards to journalists, advertising agencies and prominent advertisers for their excellent performance in the year 1997-98.

The award for the best photograph was given to Aijaz Hashmi of The News International, Karachi. APNS President Mir Shakil-ur-Rahman presented the welcome address highlighting APNS viewpoint and the problems facing the newspaper industry. General Musharraf announced a cash award of 30, 000 rupees each to the winning journalists in addition to the APNS cash award.

Secretary General APNS Arshad A Zuberi said that Executive Committee had decided to give APNS Millennium Award to SH Hashmi of Orient Advertising (Pvt) Ltd for his consistent leadership in Print Media Advertising over half a century.

Following are the other award winners:
Business Performance Awards:
M/s Orient Advertising (Pvt) Limited Karachi 1st
M/s Interflow Communications (Pvt) Limited, Karachi 2nd
M/s Maxim Advertising Co(Pvt) Limited Karachi 3rd

Special Business Performance Award: M/s Midas (Pvt) Limited Lahore.

Special Business Awards: Periodical, M/s R Lintas (Pvt) Ltd; Metropolitan B Publications, M/s Maxim Advertising Co (Pvt) Ltd; Regional Publications: M/s Orient Advertising (Pvt) Ltd.

Clients Performance Awards (Private Sector): M/s Pak Suzuki Motors Ltd (Orient) 1st

Lever Brothers Pakistan Limited (R Lintas) 2nd

M/s Citibank (Interflow) 3rd.

Client Performance Awards (Public Sector): M/s Central Board of Revenue (Midas) 1st
M/s Habib Bank Limited (Interflow) 2nd
Population Census Organisation (Midas) 3rd

Product Launch Of The Year 1997 and 1998: M/s Citibank (Interflow)

The panel of judges for the 15th APNS awards for agencies consistent of M Riaz Mahmood, Anwar Chaudhary, Nusrat Nasarullah and Ziauddin Jeddi. The panel selected the following awards:

Best English Copy: M/s Abriatric Advertising (Pvt) Ltd for M/s Kodak Pakistan Ltd advertising captioned “Think, Shoot, Capture.”

Best Copy Urdu: M/s Adarts (Karachi) Ltd for M/s Hamdard Waqf Pakistan Limited Advertisement.

Best visual color: M/s Asiatic Advertising (Pvt) Ltd for M/s Lipton advertisement captioned Double Chamber Twice the Flavour.”

Best Visual Black And White: M/s Prestige Communications (Pvt) Ltd for M/s Sony advertisement captioned “Offering a Service Network All Over Pakistan.”

Public Service Campaign: The judges decided that the entries in the public service category are not up to the standard of the APNS award hence a certificate of commendation be given to M/s Interflow Communications (Pvt) Ltd for its advertisement captioned “Violence: today’s witness may be tomorrow’s criminal.”

Public Relations Award: The Presidential Award on excellent performance in the field of public relations to Sh Muhammad Sabir Qadri, Manager Public Relations and Advertising Pakistan state Oil Company Limited.

APNS Journalist Awards:
Best column by Javed Chaudhary of daily Jang, Lahore; best feature by Hassan Zaidi of monthly Herald; best photograph by Aijaz Hashmi of The News International, Karachi; best cartoon by Muhammad Zahoor of Frontier Post, Peshawar; best scoop by Naved Miraj of Frontier Post, Peshawar; best article by Zahid Hassan Newsline (monthly); best investigative report by Masood Ansar of Newsline (monthly).

Source: The News