=> The elections of Rawalpindi-Islamabad Union of Jou | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

=> The elections of Rawalpindi-Islamabad Union of Jou

The elections of Rawalpindi-Islamabad Union of Journalists 2008 will be held at Rawalpindi Press Club on Wednesday.

A meeting of the election committee was held on Tuesday in which it was decided that

the polling will be held from 10:00a.m. to 7:00p.m. Nasir Zaidi, chairman election committee, presided over the meeting.

As many as three panels are contesting the elections. Afzal Butt is the Progressive Panel’s candidate for the post of president while Revolution Panel is led by Anwar Fitrat. For Democratic Panel, Mazhar Jatoi is contesting for the president’s post.

For two seats of vice-presidents Abdul Khalid Khattak, Ahmad Latif, Gulzar Hussain, Nasir Chishti and Shahryar Khan are in the run. Ashfaq Sajid, Nazar Baloch, Syed Muzamal Hussain are contesting for the post of general secretary.

The two joint secretaries will be elected from Amir Sajjad Syed, Aslam Dogar Iftikhar Mashwani, Riaz Ahmed and S M Zaman. Qazi Bilal and Waqar Satti have submitted their papers for the one seat of treasurer.

The 10 executive members will be elected from Abuzar Waseem, Asim Yasin, Bilal

Dar, Farman Ali Baig, Farrukh Nawaz, Fayaz Chaudhry, Haider Naseem, Hasan Nasir Khan,

Mohammad Ashraf Ansari, Mohammad Hajab Khan, Ijaz Abbasi, Ikram Bukhari, Imran Yaqub Dhiloon, Javed Baloch, Mubashar Zaidi, Moazzam Raza Tabasum, Sardar Ahsan Ali, Sardar Shiraz Khan, Sheikh Manzoor Ahmad, Tariq Aziz and Zamir Haider.

Source: The News