Radio artistes given national awards | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Pakistan Press Foundation

Radio artistes given national awards

KARACHI- Twenty-three writers, artistes, producers, and engineers were awarded the Pakistan Broadcasting Corporation (PBC) Regional Excellence Award 2000 at a colourful ceremony that lasted about three years at the FTC Auditorium and went on the air as well on Saturday night.

The ceremony was the third of the regional award ceremonies held this year. Earlier, similar ceremonies have been held at Quetta and Peshawar during the year as part of the PBC excellence award 1999-2000.

The ceremony was a treat to watch for audience in the auditorium, but in case of listeners who had their radio sets on for the live proceedings of the ceremony it may be said that the organisers, of the programme failed to fully cater properly for them, the actual target audience.

It was felt that perhaps they were confused with the presence of audience, participants of the programme sitting in the hall, and compares turned dumb sometimes as they gave a long and unbearable pause, requiring the producer sitting at the Radio Station Karachi to do some patch work to cover up their failures.

Similarly skits and performers of the skits did their best, keeping in view the audience present at the auditorium, as some of the contents and performances in the skits were not up to mark and were conceived entirely by ignoring the real listeners at home, as the anecdotes and their punch for the audience at the hall could not be caught by those far away The indispensable visual component was missing.

Radio listeners, however, were surely compensated by vocalists and instrumentalists, including Wahab Khan, Tabassum Warsi, Fauzia Soomro, Mumtaz Lashari, Allah Bachaio Khusu, and Gulbahar Bano who presented national songs, Ghazals, folk songs and Soofiana Kalam. Song (Mujhe Award Milega) by Manzoor Kamran, a parody of famous song by Singer Masood Rana (Meray Dil Ki Hai Awaz kay) surely provided a better source of humour, both for the audiences and radio listeners.

Singer Gulbahar Bano enthralled the audience and listeners finally. Contrary to other vocalists, who were confined to one Ghazal or song only, she rendered four Ghazals-Chahat Mein Kiya Duniay Dari; Mehfil Mein Bar Bar Usi Per Nazar Gai; Yeh Mashghala Hai Kisi Ka- and Ab To Dil Nahi Lagta in Pari Jamalon Mein- and all were appreciated very much.

She attracted the audience so much that some of the high ups of radio and information ministry as well requested Gulbahar to sing ghazal of their choice.

It were the mastery of senior compare and producer Muhammad Naqi and mature announcer and drama artiste Hafeez Fatima that kept the tempo of the grand ceremony of radio. Others who performed as hosts were Manxoor Kamran, Dr Huma Mir and Khalil Channa, while Station Director Haroon Jafferi and senior producer Iffat Naqi were present away from the microphone with all their guidance and support.

Provincial Minister Maulana Wali Razi, in his brief remarks, after handing over a couple of awards to winners said that he had also been associated with Radio for long and presented the programme like ‘Quran Hakeern Hamari Zindagi’ for a longer period.

In his address of welcome, Salim Gul, Director General, lauded the ceremony and said that Radio Pakistan was highly conscious of the talent and wanted to give it due recognition and encouragement to the talented persons. Hence the awards ceremony.

During the ceremony awards were given for outstanding performance by Radio staffers belonging to Karachi, Hyderabad, Khairpur and Larkana stations respectively. Recipients of awards are:

Qirat-Qari Ziaul Haq, Naat Khwan; Muhwmad Waseem, Producer, Music; Naseer Mirza, Producer Jockey; Noor Azhar Jaffery, Producer Special Audience; Anwar Hakroo, Producer, Religious programmes; Muhammad Tasleem, Producer Sports; Khalil Channa, Producer Current Affairs; Aslam Baloch, Producer, Documentary/Investigative reports; Noorullah Bughio, Producer Drama; Agha Muhammad Ali, Producer, Special Audience; Ghulamus Sibtain Jafferi, Instrumentalist; Ali Nawaz (Shehnai); Folk Vocalist- Fauzia Soomro; News Reader (Sindhi)- Meher Ali Hisbani; News Reader (Urdu)- Abdul Razzak; Compere/Announcer (male)Mumtaz Ali Shaikh; Compere/Announcer (Female) Nazia Ali; Singer/vocalist (classical)- Wazir Ali Khan; Singer/vocalist (Light)- Tabassum Warsi; Drama Writer- Rashid Sabir; Drama Artist- G M Kaleem; Stock Character- Abdul Ghaffar Memon; and Engineer Muhammad Qadeer.

Special Awards were given to Haroon Jafferi, Station Director, Radio Karachi; Parveen Akhtar (Munni Baji), who remained associated with the radio and conducted the children’s programme for at least 15 years, and Zaib Sindhi, Producer, Radio Pakistan Hyderabad. Shields were given to Noor Muhammad Khaskheli, Parveen Rajpar, Nizam Zair and Yahya Bhutto.

The Sindh Governor Muhammedmian Scomro, who was to be the chief guest at the award ceremony, did not come, as he was reportedly in Islamabad. The ceremony continued without any chief guest.

Source: The News