Protocol on child prostitution ratified -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Protocol on child prostitution ratified

By Amin Ahmed

ISLAMABAD: The government appointed on Thursday four retired high court judges as members of the Election Commission of Pakistan which had become incomplete after the 18th Amendment.

President Asif Ali Zardari made the appointment on the advice of Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani.

The president also appointed eight members of the Council of Islamic Ideology (CII).

The judges appointed to the ECP are Justice Fazalur Rehman from Balochistan, Justice Shahzad Akbar Khan from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Justice Riaz Kayani from Punjab and Justice Mohammad Roshan Essani from Sindh.

The Parliamentary Committee on appointment of Chief Election Commissioner and Members of the Election Commission had confirmed their names on June 1.

The new members of the CII are: Allama Zubair Ahmed Zaheer (Punjab), Sahabzada Pir Khalid Sultan Al Qadir, (Balochistan), Justice (retd) Mian Nazir Akhter (Punjab), Syed Iftikhar Hussain Naqvi (Punjab), Mufti Muhammad Iqbal Hussain Shah Faizi (Sindh), Syed Feroze Jamal Shah (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Justice (retd) Mushtaq A. Memon (Sindh) and Qari Mohammad Hanif Jallandhari (Punjab).

Under the 18th Amendment, the appointment of four members was imperative for the ECP to conduct elections and their absence had rendered several by-elections controversial.

Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry had ordered immediate appointment of the members.
Source: Dawn