PHC retires five judicial officers for corruption -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

PHC retires five judicial officers for corruption

PESHAWAR: Chief Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan of Peshawar High Court has ordered compulsory retirement of five judicial officers — three district and sessions judges (DSJs) and two additional district and sessions judges (ADSJs) – after charges of corruption were proved against them.

The CJ issued the orders on Friday after accepting recommendations of the Authorised Officer, Justice Miftauddin Khan, in this respect.

DSJs Fayyazullah Khan, at present an OSD; Shahid Naseem Khan, posted in Karak; and Syed Asghar Shah, at present an OSD; and (ADJs) Faqirur Rehman Jadoon, posted in Lakki Marwat; and Sajjad Anwer, posted in Matta (Swat), had been suspended on Oct 21.

A press release issued by PHC’ Registrar said a thorough probe into the activities of the judicial officers and their overall reputation was undertaken and extreme precautions were taken to ensure that no-one whose integrity was above board was affected.

“Their service record was pored over; their assets which were ostensibly well beyond their legitimate means were looked into; what the people in general and lawyers in particular say about them, was analysed and examined,” it said.

After being satisfied about their reputation, Justice Miftauddin Khan, a judge of the high court, was appointed as Authorised Officer to proceed against the five officers.

The AO gave them the fullest opportunity of being heard and also considered their written defence and recommended their compulsory retirement. “The honourable Chief Justice found that the track record of the said judicial officers spoke louder than words about their persistent reputation of being corrupt; therefore, he, while agreeing with the recommendations of the Authorised Officer, imposed upon all the said judicial officers, the major penalty of compulsory retirement from service forthwith.”
Source: Dawn