PFUJ Honors 1978 Press Freedom Heroes | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Pakistan Press Foundation

PFUJ Honors 1978 Press Freedom Heroes

Pakistan Press Foundation

On May 12, the Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ) paid tribute to the journalists who resisted censorship under General Ziaul Haq’s dictatorship in 1978. PFUJ President Afzal Butt and Secretary General Arshad Ansari lauded these journalists as heroes and role models for today’s media professionals.

PFUJ leaders specifically acknowledged Iqbal Jaffery, Nasir Zaidi, Khawar Naeem Hashmi, and Masood Ullah Khan, who were publicly lashed on May 13, 1978, for defying censorship.

The PFUJ also strongly condemned the present state of media censorship, unofficial pressure tactics, and misuse of laws and regulations. They vowed to continue fighting against authoritarian regimes, regardless of their guise and called for unity among journalists to protect press freedom.

In solidarity with the PFUJ, the Bahawalpur Union of Journalists (BhUJ) observed ‘Yaum-e-Azm’ to honor the journalists who were lashed in 1978 for their participation in the Press Freedom Movement. Led by President Majeed Gill, the BhUJ held a rally and meeting to recognize the sacrifices made by these journalists for the cause of press freedom.



Comments are closed.