Parliamentary body: media asked not to glorify terrorists, their sympathisers | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Pakistan Press Foundation

Parliamentary body: media asked not to glorify terrorists, their sympathisers

Pakistan Press Foundation

A special parliamentary committee formed after militant attack on a school in Peshawar on Friday decided to constitute a ‘joint experts’ group’ which would give its recommendations on the formulation of a ‘National Action Plan’. “The joint experts’ group will give its final recommendations about a National Action Plan to the special parliamentary committee and it will present it to the country’s political and military leadership,” said Senator Afrasiab Khan Khattak of Awami National Party (ANP) while talking to media persons after a five-hour long meeting.

He said that around 14 to 15 names have been considered for the experts group which will meet in a day or two. “The experts’ group will give its recommendations after looking into the inputs of a meeting between Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Chief of Army Staff General Raheel Sharif, meeting of all parliamentary parties in Peshawar and today’s (Friday) special committee meeting,” he said. Sources said a Joint Experts’ Group would also consist of representatives of Pakistan army, Intelligence Bureau (IB) and other intelligence agencies.

The group would also examine the National Inter-Security Policy (NISP) before giving its recommendations to the parliamentary panel headed by Chaudhary Nisar Ali Khan. Khattak said the meeting also decided that media should not glorify terrorists and their sympathisers. “The committee also asked the government to review media laws and ensure strict implementation of existing media laws,” he said.

He said that it was also the responsibility of media to take care of masses’ emotions in the prevailing circumstances, adding the media should not glorify those who did not condemn a brutal militant attack on a Peshawar school,” he said. The meeting was presided over by Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan. It was attended by Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Dr Shireen Mazari and Dr Arif Alvi, Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Rehman Malik and Qamar Zaman Kaira, Awami National Party’s (ANP) Afrasiab Khattak, Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) Dr Farooq Sattar and Babar Ghauri, Pakistan Muslim League’s (PML-Q) Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Jamiat Ulma-e-Islam-Fazl’s (JUI-F) Akram Khan Durrani, Jamaat-i-Islami’s (JI) Sahibzada Tariqullah, PML-Z’s Ejazul Haq, Qaumi Watan Party’s (QWP) Anisa Zeb Tahirkheli and Kalsoom Perveen of Pakthunkgwa Milli Awami Party.

Awami Muslim League President Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed did not show up at the meeting. Sources said the experts’ groups consists of Tasneem Noorani, former Secretary Ministry of Interior, Syed Kamal Shah, former secretary Ministry of Interior, Rustam Shah Mohmand, former ambassador, Brigadier Wajid (Retd), Ayaz Wazir former ambassador, Tariq Khosa, former DIG FIA and former IGP Sindh Muhmmad Afzal Shigri.

Business Recorder