Latif Bhittai Excellence Award next month -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Latif Bhittai Excellence Award next month

KARACHI: Sindh Minister for Culture, Tourism and Social Welfare, Rauf Siddiqui announced Saturday that the Shah Abdul Latif Bhittai Excellence Award would be conferred next month.

The award would be conferred in four different categories, Urdu/Sindhi scholar/writer, poet, actor/writer/director in the field of performing arts and Sindhi folk singer, and the winners will also receive a cash prize of Rs 50,000. A seven-member committee was named to prepare a list of eligible candidates for each of the four categories, and finalise and present the winners’ list ten days prior to the urs of Shah Abdul Latif Bhittai.

The committee members will be Sindh University VC Mazharul Haq Siddiqui, University of Karachi VC Pirzada Qasim Raza Siddiqui, Secretary Culture Abdul Qadir Mangi, Dr Ghulam Ali Alana, Fahmida Riaz, Prof Sahar Ansari and Shafi Muhammad Shah, while Mazharul Haq Siddiqui will be the chairperson of the committee every year.

The provincial minister has already announced renowned writer late Shaukat Siddiqui as the winner of the 2007 award for the category of scholar/writer.
Source: Daily Times