LAHORE: The Pakistan Christian National Party (PCN | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

LAHORE: The Pakistan Christian National Party (PCN

LAHORE: The Pakistan Christian National Party (PCNP) will give the ‘Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto Shaheed Award’ to 30 journalists on March 30, 2008, said PCNP chief M Joseph Francis on Friday.

Talking to journalists at his party office, he said the award would be given to those journalists who had worked for human rights, democracy and civil liberties. The recipients of the award included columnists, reporters and photographers belonging to both print and electronic media, he said.

He said Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) co-chairperson Asif Ali Zardari, PPP senior vice chairman Makhdoom Amin Fahim and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) chief Mian Nawaz Sharif would be the chief guests on the occasion.

He said Benazir Bhutto struggled for the restoration of democracy, human rights and civil liberties not only in Pakistan, but also on an international level. He said the names of the journalists would soon be announced.

Source: Daily Times