Knight International Journalism Award | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Pakistan Press Foundation

Knight International Journalism Award

The Knight International Journalism Award recognizes media professionals who demonstrate a passionate commitment to excellent reporting that makes a difference in the lives of people around the world. Past recipients include pioneering correspondents who have exposed government corruption, war crimes and other important stories. The award also has honored crusading publishers determined to maintain their independence despite enormous political and financial pressures.

The award is presented by the Knight International Journalism Fellowships program. The fellowships are designed to create lasting, tangible improvements in the way journalism is practiced around the world. The program is supported by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, with additional funding from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Recipients of the Knight International Journalism Award do an excellent job of informing and engaging their communities, a key goal of Knight Foundation.
2012 Knight International Journalism Award Winners

Sami Mahdi, news director, 1TV, Afghanistan
Kassim Mohamed, senior correspondent, Star FM, Kenya

News Innovation Award

The ICFJ News Innovation Award recognizes pioneering work that promotes the free flow of news and the open exchange of ideas. Created in 2010, the award recognizes the growing importance technology plays in advancing quality journalism and providing access to information, especially in countries where government censorship makes news-gathering both difficult and dangerous.

Across the globe, digital technology is transforming our field. Reporters from major media outlets routinely produce stories for multiple platforms. The growing ranks of citizen journalists are blogging and tweeting, adding their voices to a new information stream.

The News Innovation Award is given to the creators of new technologies. They could be inventors of new services, tools, devices or news organizations that elevate our ability to produce and disseminate news and engage communities.

ICFJ Founders Award for Excellence in Journalism

The ICFJ Founders Award is a tribute to three visionaries who started the International Center for Journalists 27 years ago: Tom Winship, editor of The Boston Globe from 1965 to 1985; Jim Ewing, publisher of The Keene Sentinel in New Hampshire; and George Krimsky, AP correspondent and editor for 38 years, now with the Republican-American in Waterbury, Conn. Winship, Ewing and Krimsky felt a strong need to support colleagues overseas, particularly in countries with little tradition of a free press. All three shared the belief that the news media’s role is to expose, investigate, and articulate issues of concern to average citizens. And they wanted an organization run by journalists for journalists to help foster their ideals. Out of their beliefs, ICFJ was born. This award, given in their honor, is presented to a journalist with a long-time commitment to the highest standards of the profession.

International Center of Journalists

Comments are closed.