Inter-city movement of 30 ulema banned -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Inter-city movement of 30 ulema banned

By Mohammad Asghar

RAWALPINDI: The Punjab government has banned inter-city movement of 30 ulema during Ramazan in the province, Dawn has learnt.

Sources said DCOs of Lahore, Multan, Bahawalpur and other districts had been notified about the banned ulema, including Khateeb of Lal Masjid Maulana Abdul Aziz and Maulana Shabir Hussain Hafizabadi. DCOs have been directed to ensure the ban on the entry of ulema in and out of their respective districts.

Other ulema on the list include Maulana Mohammad Ahmed Ludhyanvi, Maulana Abdul Ghani, Ali Hassan Imami, Maulana Mohammad Hussain Nakashbandi, Maulana Abdul Rehman, Shaukat Raza Shaukat, Qari Ghulam Hashmi, Ghulam Asghar Naqvi, Maulana Mohammad Taufail, Maulana Mohammad Alam Tariq, Maulana Masood-ur-Rehman Usmani, Syed Irshad Hussain, Maulana Mohammad Ali Zakir, Qari Ghanzafar Ali, Syed Sajjad Hussain Shah, Allama Zaigham Abbas, Maulana Mohammad Taufail, BA Hijrah Shah Sikum, Allama Dildar Hussain, Maulana Masood ur Rehman Usmani, Maulana Abid Karim Nadeem, Maulana Ashraf Ali Zaigham, Maulana Abdul Rehman Nasir, Allama Ghulam Abbas, Maulana Usman Zia and Maulana Aurangzaib Farooqi.

Meanwhile, the Additional Inspector General of Police, Rao Muhammad Iqbal, has issued security plan for Ramazan. Police personnel equipped with metal detectors and automatic weapons would be deployed at the mosques and imambargahs during Fajr and Isha prayers. Police personnel would also be deployed at the rooftops of mosques declared as sensitive.

The police have been directed to get assurance from the mosque administrations that the only one gate would be used for exit and entry during Isha and Taraveh prayers.

The AIG also directed the police officers to activate “peace committees” and notables from different walks of life be made their members. The SDPOs, SPOs, DSPs and SHOs had been directed to ensure security of important buildings and other installations, including Railway Station, bus stands, cinema houses, commercial areas and public parks in their respective areas.
Source: Dawn