Experts suggest formation of CCU for tackling cyber crimes | Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Pakistan Press Foundation

Experts suggest formation of CCU for tackling cyber crimes

Pakistan Press Foundation

ISLAMABAD: A Tanzanian delegation suggested on Tuesday that Pakistan should launch an initiative for tackling cyber crimes by establishing cyber crime unit (CCU) in the police force, develop relevant legislation and formulate computer emergency response team (CERT) for facilitating the implementation.

This was briefed at a workshop organised by the Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (ISESCO), COMSATS, the Inter Islamic Network on Information Technology (INIT), the COMSATS Institute of Information Technology (CIIT) and the Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH).

It was revealed that at least $6 million are lost in cyber-related crimes in Tanzania which has led them to develop CCUs and CERTs. The dignitaries of the delegation pointed out that at least $445 billion are lost annually worldwide due to a large number of cyber crimes, electronic thefts and breaches in online security.

Furthermore, it was revealed that almost 800 million data records are hacked into or stolen for which the developing countries need to step in for controlling the crimes alongside the developed nations.
INIT President Dr Junaid Zaidi stressed that the data and applications on networks must be secured to the optimum level in order to counter the ever-changing and technically advancing sophistications of cyber attacks.

Experts belonging to Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Oman are imparting training on topics related to organisational security, cryptography and network security, ethical hacking, cyber security and information security design principles and event management systems.

Almost 60 young researchers, practitioners, academicians, system administrators and programmers working in the field of Internet/information security and cryptography belonging to Pakistan, Uganda, Iran, Tunisia, Senegal, Egypt, Nigeria, Jordan and Kenya, are to receive the training.

Daily Times