Call for Pakistani filmmakers to submit movies to Oscar committee -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Call for Pakistani filmmakers to submit movies to Oscar committee

Pakistan Press Foundation

Since the revival of Pakistani films, we have approached an era where Pakistani films are decent enough to be eligible for submission to the prestigious Academy Awards, now officially known as The Oscars.

Since this rebirth, Pakistan has submitted several films to The Oscars in the International Feature Film Award category, formerly known as Foreign Language Film category.

The journey began with Zinda Bhaag (2013) followed by Dukhtar (2014), Moor (2015) Mah-e-Mir (2016), Saawan (2017) and Cake (2018).

As more films are produced in Pakistan, the call for submission to The Oscars beckons Pakistani filmmakers who made a film.

Like every year, the committee has gone through certain changes with new faces joining two-time Oscar winner Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy. Chaired by SOC, this year’s committee includes Zeba Bakhtiar (director and actress), Zarrar Khuhro (journalist), Zebunnisa Hamid (assistant professor of film studies), Sarmad Khoosat (writer, producer, director and actor), Asim Abbasi (director), Rizwan Beyg (Fashion Designer), Jamil Baig (CEO Nueplex Cinemas), Sanam Saeed (actress, singer and former model] and Hamna Zubair (journalist).

However, The Oscars has certain guidelines that have to be met in order to be a candidate such as “the motion picture must be first released in the country submitting it no earlier than October 1, 2018, and no later than September 30, 2019, and be first publicly exhibited for at least seven consecutive days in a commercial motion picture theater for the profit of the producer and exhibitor.”

Which film will appeal to the jury most to be sent to The Oscars, time will reveal. As per press statement, for entry forms, submission details and queries, please write to

The News

Related Story

The Nation: Sharmeen Obaid releases 3rd part from ‘Shattering the Silence’

Comments are closed.