APNS seeks Prime Minister's intervention against ITNE chief's action -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

APNS seeks Prime Minister’s intervention against ITNE chief’s action

KARACHI,January 15,2005:The APNS has sought the intervention of Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz against vindictive actions of Chairman, ITNE, a spokesman of the Society, said on January 11.

According the Executive Committee of the All Pakistan Newspapers Society at its meeting, held in Karachi under the chairmanship of its President Arif Nizami, expressed its dismay over the continued harassment by ITNE against several newspapers.

The members of the Executive Committee noted with concern that the ITNE chairman conducting proceedings against members of the APNS despite the injunctive orders of the Sindh High Court restraining him from implementing the 7th Wage Board Award. These acts not only amount to personal bias of the chairman against newspaper establishments but is also contempt of High Court orders.

The Executive Committee approved the strategy finalised by its committee on Wage Board to brave the situation and resolved that its member publications would take all available means to protect their interests.

The Executive Committee decided to request Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz and Information Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed for an early meeting to apprise him on the recent developments and request him to advise the concerned ministries to stop the chairmen from his extra legal actions.

The Committee authorised the Wage Board Committee to take further actions, including the option of a protest strike of newspapers after the meeting with the prime minister.

The Executive Committee in another resolution condemned the ban on advertisements to several newspapers by the PID on their refusal to accept the press advice issued by the Information Ministry.

The members noted that despite assurances by the President and Prime Minister of Pakistan the government advertisements are still being used as a lever to suppress and punish the print media and the culture of press advices has not yet been abandoned.

The members stated that the newspapers are objective and responsible members of the press and are aware of their national responsibilities. They would continue to play their role to inform the public keeping in view of the interests and requirements of a healthy society.

The members urged upon the Federal Government to lift the ban on the government advertisements imposed on Daily Express, Daily Sahafat, Daily Din, Daily Kainat, Daily Pakistan Observer, Daily Frontier Post and Daily Asas Rawalpindi.(

The Executive Committee expressed its satisfaction over the announcement of the Chief Minister Punjab, Ch. Pervaiz Elahi, to clear the long outstanding bills of the Punjab-based publications against regular advertisements issued by the government of Punjab within seven days and hoped that the concerned departments would honour the assurances of the chief minister.

The Executive Committee requested the chief minister that the dues relating to SPL advertisements are still outstanding for many years and the government of Punjab should also clear the dues along with regular advertisement bills.

The members noted that the DGPR Punjab was denying display ads to regional and small publications whereas these publications were entitled for 25 percent quota of these advertisements as well.

The Executive Committee approved the list of holidays for the year 2005. It also took notice of the malpractices of some advertisers in collaboration with hawkers to insert their advertisements in newspapers and decided to take appropriate actions in this respect.

The members of the Executive Committee expressed condolence on the sad demise of Ch. Manzoor Elahi, father of Ch. Pervaiz Elahi, Chef Minister Punjab; Syed Hamid Ali, father of Masood Hamid and Hawas Khan, father of Tahir A. Khan. The members offered Fateha and prayed that God Almighty rest their souls in peace.

The meeting was attended by the following:

Arif Nizami, President; Syed Faseih Iqbal, Sr. Vice President; Mumtaz A. Tahir, Vice President; Mohammad Aslam Kazi, Secretary General; Mushtaq Ahmed Qureshi, Joint Secretary; Waqar Yousuf Azeemi, Finance Secretary; Bilal Farooqui (D/Aghaz); Mehtab Khan (D/Ausaf); Wasim Ahmed (D/Awam, Quetta); Dr Jabbar Khattak (D/Awami Awaz); Arshad A. Zuberi (D/Business Recorder); Abdul Rashid Ghazi (D/Business Report, Fbd); Masood Hamid (D/Dawn), Najamuddin Sheikh (D/Deyanat); Qudsia Khan (D/Financial Post); Kazi Asad Abid (D/Ibrat); Mir Shakil-ur-Rahman (D/Jang); Syed Sajjad Hussein Shah (D/Kainat); Javed Mehr Shamsi (D/Kaleem); Zia Shahid (D/Khabrain); Aamir Mahmood (M/Kiran); Syed Ayaz Badshah (D/Mashriq); Inquilab Matri (D/Millat Gujrati); Syed Sajjad Bokhari (D/Musawat); Mohammad Ibrahim Ghauri, (M/Mystery Magazine); S. M. Munir Jillani (D/Paigham); Ilyas Shakir (D/Qaumi Akhbar); Khalid Mahmood Shah (M/Shahrag-e-Pakistan); Riaz Ahmed Mansuri (M/The Cricketer), Jamil Ather (M/Women Time.) and Mustafa Sadiq (D/Wifaq).

Hameed Haroon (D/Dawn); Maqsood H. Shah (D/Nawa-i-Waqt); Syed Sarmad Ali (D/Jang); Abid Abdullah (D/Express) and Sharif Farooq (D/Jehad) attended on special request.
Source: Business Recorder