APNS office-bearers elected -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

APNS office-bearers elected

Pakistan Press Foundation

KARACHI: The All-Pakistan Newspapers Society (APNS) elected Sarmad Ali as its president, Rameeza Majid Nizami as senior vice-president, Mumtaz A. Tahir as vice-president, Umer Mujib Shami as secretary-general, S.M. Munir Jilani as joint secretary and Syed Ali Hasan Naqvi as finance secretary for the year 2016-17, said a press release on Thursday.

The statement said that APNS chairman Hameed Haroon presided over a meeting of the society’s Annual General Council held on Wednesday which unanimously approved the report of its Executive Committee for the preceding year as well as its annual accounts.

In a resolution, the council noted with concern that federal and provincial governments were denying government advertising to a majority of genuine publications and that major part of the advertising budget had been diverted to electronic media.

In another resolution, the council reiterated that regional quota should be strictly implemented and no publications other than regional ones should be allocated government advertisements from the quota.

According to the statement, the general council, attended by 150 members from across the country, formed an Election Commission which comprised Younus Riaz, Syed Hamid Hussain Abedi and Aleem Ahmed.

The commission held elections for the society’s Executive Committee for the year 2016-17.


Related News

The News: APNS elects new office-bearers