APNS annual awards in last week of March -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

APNS annual awards in last week of March

KARACHI: The Annual Awards Ceremony of the APNS will be held in the last week of March 2011 wherein the President of Pakistan, Mr Asif Ali Zardari, has consented to be the chief guest.

“The Secretary General, APNS, Sarmad Ali, stated that the Executive Committee of the All Pakistan Newspapers Society, chaired by the President APNS, Hameed Haroon, at its meeting held on March 07, 2011 has decided to hold its General Council on March 31, 2011 to elect members of the Executive Committee for the years 2011-12. The members adopted the annual report of the Executive Committee for the year 2010-11 and annual account for the year 2010.

The members of the APNS executive approved and finalized the preparations for the Annual Awards wherein the president of Pakistan will distribute awards among the winning journalists and advertising practitioners for the excellence in their professions. The executive committee also decided to give Life Time Achievement Award to senior and veteran publishers.

The meeting of the Executive Committee was attended by Majid Nizami, the former President of the Society, as guest of honor. The Executive Committee gave standing ovation ot its former president and decided to elect him as member emeritus of the society.

The Executive Committee considered the report of Convener, Regional Press Committee wherein it was briefed that the Regional Press Convention shall now be held on April 09, 2011 at Lahore wherein Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, prime Minister of Pakistan, has consented to be the chief guest on the occasion.

The Executive Committee decided to grant associate membership to Daily Taqat Quetta, Daily Independent, Hub, Daily Balochistan Lines, Quetta, Daily Nazm News, Quetta, Daily Bolan, Hub, Daily Pakistan Observer, Lahore, Daily Abtak, Lahore, Daily Sama, Lahore, Daily Leader, Lahore, Weekly Akhbar-e-Khawateen Lahore, Daily Mahasib, Gilgit, Daily Ausaf Gilgit, Daly Ausaf, Muzaffarabad and Daily Techno Times, Karachi.

The Executive Committee on the report of Advertising Committee approved the confirmation of accreditation of M/s Lahore Publicity Services, Lahore, and restructuring of M/s Media One Communication, Lahore, and M/s X20 Communications, Lahore.

The meeting was attended by the following: Majid Nizami, Hameed Haroon, President APNS, Muhammad Aslam Kazi, Sr. Vice President, Umer Mujib Shami, Vice President, Sarmad Ali, Secretary General, Ms. Shimaila Matri Dawood, Joint Secretary, S.M. Munir Jillani, Finance Secretary, Anwar Farooqui (D/Aghaz), Danish Iftikhar (D/Asas), Mehtab Khan (D/Ausaf), Waseem Ahmed (Daily Awam, Quetta), Rehmat Ali Raazi (W/Azm), Mumtaz A. Tahir (D/Aftab), Ghulam Akbar (DAl Akhbar), Ahmed Zuberi (D/Business Recorder), Abdul Rashid Ghazi (D/Business Report), Syed Faseih Iqbal (D/Balochistan Times), Najamuddin Sheikh (D/Deyanat), Aijaz-ul-Haq (D/Express), Ms. Qudsia K. Khan (D/Financial post), Kazi Asad Abid (D/Ibrat), Javed Mehr Shamsi(D/Kaleem), Rizwan Saeed Syed D/ Khabrain), Aamir Mahmood (M/Kiran), Syed Ayaz Badshah (D/Mashriq, Peshawar), Ms. Rameeza Majid Nizami (D/Nawa-i-Waqt), Sardar Khan Niazi (M/Naya Rukh), Dr. Waqar Yousuf Azeemi (M/Roohani Digest), Riaz Ahmed Mansuri (M The Cricketer), Jamil Ather (D/Tijarat), Mahmud-ul-Aziz (M/ Pictorial New Review) and Prof. S.B. Hassan (M/ Investment & Marketing).

Dr. Jabbar Khattak (ex-officio), Mushtaq Ahmed Qureshi (M/Naey Ufaq), and Humayon Gulzar (D/Sayadat) attended as special invites.
Source: The News