22nd APNS Awards ceremony to be held on 16th -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

22nd APNS Awards ceremony to be held on 16th

KARACHI: The 22nd APNS Awards ceremony will be held on April 16, 2012 at the Aiwan-e-Sadr, Islamabad, wherein awards will be distributed by President Asif Ali Zardari among the winners of journalist and advertising agencies awards. The APNS has announced the winners of the 21st APNS Journalist Awards for the period 2011, which will be given at the APNS Awards Ceremony.

The Panel of Judges for the awards included Ameena Saiyid, Managing Director, Oxford University Press, Prof. Dr. Nisar Zuberi, University of Karachi, Mr. Babar Ayaz, Managing Director, Mediators (Pvt) Ltd., Karachi, Dr. Rafia Taj, Head of Department, Mass Communications, Karachi University, Prof. Dr. Fateh Muhammad Burfat, Karachi University, Mrs. Mehtab Akbar Rashdi, Eye Television Network, Dr. Mugheesuddin Sheikh, Superior University, Justice Nasir Aslam Zahid, Mr. Owais Aslam Ali, Pakistan Press International, Prof. Tauseef Ahmed Khan, Federal Urdu University, Mr. Ram Vallabh, Dr. Fahmida Hussain, Chairperson, Sindhi Language Authority, Syed Iqbal Shah Commissioner Coord & Dy. International Commissioner, Pakistan Scout Association, Mr. Yaqoob Mughal, Ms. Seemeen Naghmana, Dean Faculty of Arts, Federal Urdu University, and Prof. Shahida Kazi, Department of Media Studies, Institute of Business Management.

The panel selected the following awards:

* The Best Investigative Report, Nadeem Mehmood, Daily Ummat.
* Best Investigative Report (Business Economics,) Mubarak Zeb Khan, Daily Dawn.
* Best Investigative Report (Environmental/Conservation/Gender) Razia Fareed, D/Jang.
* Best Column Award (English), Zohra Yousuf, Monthly Newsline.
* Best Column Award (Urdu), Sardar Ahmed Pirzada, Daily Nawa-e-Waqt.
* Best Column Award (Provincial Language), Ashfaq Azar, Daily Kawish.
* Best Future Award (English), Maqbool Ahmed, Monthly Herald.
* Best Feature Award (Urdu), Aqeel Abbas Jafri, Daily Express.
* Best Feature Award (Provincial Language), Wahid Paras Hisbani, Ibrat Magazine.
* Best Cover Story (Periodicals), Umer Farooq, Monthly Herald.
* Best Cartoon, Murad Ali Shah, Daily Ibrat.
* Best Photograph, M. Zahid Rehman, Daily The News International.

The APNS Executive Committee has decided to give Lifetime Achievement Awards to Mr. Abdul Rasheed Ghazi, Pir Sufaid Shah Hamdard, Mr. Maqsood Hussain Shah, Mr. Masood Ahmed Barkati and Mr. Ziauddin T. Kissat in acknowledgement of their services in the profession.

The APNS president has decided that the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Public Relations be awarded to Mr. Muhammad Saleem, PIO, PID, Islamabad.

The News