Press freedom committee formed -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Press freedom committee formed

LAHORE- The Lahore Press Club has formed a committee comprising journalists, lawyers and human rights activists to review the situation arising after the Faisalabad incident, in which journalists were baton-charged by police.

The committee will also chalk out future line of action to wage struggle for the freedom of press.

The committee, which has been named ‘Press Freedom Committee’ comprises I H Rashid, President Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists (PFUJ), Saeed Aasi, President PFUJ (Dastoor), Osman Bin Ahmed, President Punjan Union of Journalists (PUJ), Jalil ur Rahman, President PUJ (Dastoor), Ziaullah Khan Niazi, Acting President, and Arshad Ansari, Secretary, Lahore Press Club, Asma Jahangir, I A Rahman, Aziz Mazhar, Hussain Naqi, Imtiaz Alam, Najam Sethi, Abid Hassan Minto, Chaudhry Muzammil Khan, Lahore High Court Bar Association and Nisar Kausar. General Secretary PUJ Mohammad Akram will be the co-ordinator of the committee. The first meeting of the committee will be held at the Press Club on April 18.

Source: Business Recorder