PML-N bags Gujrat seat, PPP wins in D.I. Khan -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

PML-N bags Gujrat seat, PPP wins in D.I. Khan

GUJRAT / DERA ISMAIL KHAN: The Pakistan Muslim League-N clinched the PP-111 seat of the Punjab assembly on Wednesday amid allegations of rigging levelled by the PML-Q, while the Pakistan People’s Party won the PF-65 seat of the NWFP assembly.

In Gujrat, polling was peaceful with police deployed at all polling stations.

According to unofficial results, Haji Imran Zafar of the PML-N bagged 27,439 votes and PML-Q’s Mian Imran Masood 24,134 votes of the 51,682 votes polled. The total number of voters in the constituency is 158,023. The turnout was 32.7 per cent. No independent candidate could cross the 1,000-vote mark.

In Dera Ismail Khan, PPP’s Samiullah Alizai got 23,805 votes and Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam’s Maulana Lutfur Rehman 19,887, according to unofficial results from 76 polling stations.

Polling continued from 8am till 5pm, but the turnout of women was quite low.

Women were not allowed to cast their vote at two polling stations in Kech and Jabbarwala. Voting at the Rodikhel polling stations started more than two hours late.
Source: Dawn