Nawa-i-Waqt wins ICRC Award -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Nawa-i-Waqt wins ICRC Award

ISLAMABAD, May 07 2006: As the guardian and promoter of international humanitarian law, the Interna­tional Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) announced “Award for journalists” to pro­mote humanitarian writing among journalists. The winners of “Award for journalists 2006″ are Rina Saeed Khan in best English write-up and Naveed Akram Abbasi in best Urdu write-up. The award money for English is Rs 30,000 and for Urdu is Rs 25,000.

Rina Saeed Khan wrote “Don’t cry for me, Kashmir” in The Friday Times while Naveed Akram Abbasi wrote “Zinda Zameer Afrad ko Tameer-e-Nau main shamil kiyajaye “in Nawa­i-Waqt. According to an ICRC state­ment, it was a difficult decision to decide the winners as all en­tries were well articulated and raised humanitarian issues faced by the affectees after the earth­quake. It was the first time in Pakistan that the ICRC announced such an award for journalists and the award is to become an an­nual feature to encourage jour­nalists to report on humani­tarian issues.

The statement also takes the opportunity to thank and ap­preciate all the journalists who committed themselves to hu­manitarian reporting of the earth­quake and covering the activi­ties of humanitarian organiza­tions.
Source: The News