Journalist Panel wins NPC polls -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Journalist Panel wins NPC polls


ISLAMABAD: In the annual elections of National Press Club, the panel headed by AfzaI Butt won with a thumping majority on all seats, defeating Professional Liberals Panel.

According to the Election Committee headed by renowned journalist Nasir Zaidi, Butt defeated Mohsin
Raza by 390 votes. Butt got 683 votes while Raza could only manage to get 293 votes for the seat of President. Abdul Khan Khattak (665 votes), Abdul Razzak Sial (636 votes) and Waseem Khan (514 votes) were elected for the three seats of VP Vote count for their rivals was Baqir Sajjad (412), Khawaja Shafqat (312) and Waheed Khan (256).

Asim Qadeer Rana became secretary with 648 votes. His rival Arshad Waheed Chaudhary received 302 votes. Akmal Shehzad (519 votes), Aziz Malik (589 votes) and Khuram Butt (631votes) from Jouranlist Panel clinched the three slots of Joint Secretaries. The vote count for the losing candidates of Professional Liberals Panel was Attaullah Rajar (319), Nayyar Waheed Rawat (299) and Qazi Usman (285). For the seat of Finance Secretary Jahangir Minhas won by securing 645 votes whereas his rival Tanzeela Mazhar got 315 votes.

Abbas Shabbir; Babra Rizvi, Ghulam Mustafa, Javed Ahmed Soomro, Mian Shahid Mehmood, Muhammad Shafique, Pakhtoon Khan, Raja Muddasar, Rashid Malik, Sardar Ashiq Hussain, Shahid Sultah, Syed Kalbe All, Syed Nasir Abbas Naqvi, Syed Raza Hussain and Uzair Ahmed Khan, all from Journalist Panel, were elected for the Governing Body of NPC.
Source: The Nation