CPNE elects new office-bearers -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

CPNE elects new office-bearers

KARACHI: The Council of Pakistan Newspapers Editors (CPNE) on Wednesday elected its new office-bearers for the current year. Syed Fasih Iqbal (Daily Balochistan Times, Quetta) was elected President and Wamiq Zuberi (Daily Business Recorder, Karachi) Secretary-General. The annual general meeting of the CPNE was held here at the CPNE Secretariat. Outgoing secretary-general Muhammad Aslam Qazi presented the annual report. The report contained press freedom situation during the year and steps taken by the CPNE in this regard and other matters. The meeting approved the report.

Later, Finance secretary Mushtaq Ahmed Qureshi presented the financial report, which was also approved. A three-member election commission headed by Yunus Riaz (Daily Beopar, Karachi) with Ghulam Nabi Chandio (Daily Pak, Karachi) and Ashraf Qureshi (Daily Hurmat, Karachi) as members was set up. Daily Jang Karachi, Daily Awami Awaz Karachi, Daily Aghaz Karachi, Daily Business Recorder Karachi, Daily Millat (Gujrati) Karachi and Daily Star Karachi were elected unopposed on six seats of dailies in Karachi. For six seats of dailies of Lahore, Daily Nawa-e-Waqt Lahore, Daily Pakistan Lahore, Daily Musawat Lahore, Daily Tijarat Lahore, Daily Khabrain Lahore and Daily Express Lahore were elected. On two seats of Islamabad, Daily Sahafat Islamabad and Daily Pakistan Observer Islamabad were elected. For tow seats of Sindh excluding Karachi, Daily Kawish Hyderabad and Daily Kaleem Sukkur were elected. On three seats of Punjab excluding Islamabad/Rawalpindi and Lahore, Daily Paigham Faisalabad, Daily Business Report Faisalabad and Daily Aftab Multan were elected. On two seats of NWFP daily Wahdat Peshawar and Daily Jihad Peshawar were elected. On five general seats of dailies, Daily Deyanat Karachi, Daily Kainat Karachi, Daily Ummat Karachi, Daily Islam Rawalpindi and Daily Al-Akhbar Islamabad were elected. On the four general seats of monthlies in Sindh, Monthly Nai Ufaq Karachi, Monthly Kiran Digest Karachi, Monthly Roohani Digest Karachi, Monthly Naya Rukh Karachi was elected. Monthly Azam Lahore was elected on one monthly seat of Punjab. On one seat of weeklies for NWFP/Islamabad Daily Nikhar Islamabad, and for one seat of weeklies in Sindh/Balochistan Weekly Ibrat Magazine was elected. The newly elected standing committee for the current year elected Syed Fasih Iqbal (Daily Balochistan Times Quetta) as president, and Wamiq Zuberi (Daily Business Recorder Karachi) as secretary general. Other elected office-bearers were Dr Jabbar Khattak (Daily Awami Awaz Karachi) senior vice president, Mumtaz Tahir (Daily Aftab Lahore) vice president (Punjab), Dr Javed Mahar Shamsi (Daily Kaleem Sukkur) vice president (Sindh), Pir Sufaid Shah (Daily Wahdat Peshawar) vice president (NWFP), Waseem Akhtar (Daily Awam Quetta) vice president (Balochistan), Zahid Malik (Daily Pakistan Observer Islamabad) vice president (Islamabad), Syed Muhammad Munir Jillani (Daily Paigham Faisalabad) joint secretary, and Mushtaq Ahmed Qureshi (Monthly Nai Ufaq Karachi) treasurer.

Syed Fasih Iqbal after taking over his office thanked the election commission and standing committee. He vowed that the CPNE would continue its struggle for the freedom of the press. He said the CPNE would never compromise on principles of the freedom of the press.
Source: The News