CPNE demands withdrawal of centralised ads policy -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

CPNE demands withdrawal of centralised ads policy

KARACHI: The Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE) has demanded of the government to withdraw the centralised ads policy, says a press release on Thursday.

The resolution, adopted at the CPNE Standing Committee meeting held under the chairmanship of its President Jamil Athar Qazi the other day, says that the government ads policy has badly affected the regional and small papers financially. The resolution also demanded of the government to end its control over Pakistan Television Corporation (PTV), Pakistan Broadcasting Corporation (PBC) and Associated Press of Pakistan (APP), before the forthcoming general elections and make them independent and autonomous.

The Standing Committee decided to issue code of conduct for the print media in connection with the general elections and implement it through the Election Commission of Pakistan.

For making the CPNE more active and effective, the meeting also reviewed the suggestions for protection of freedom of the press journalists code of conduct, amendments in the CPNE constitution of existing members, new membership and financial matters. The meeting approved formation of various sub-committees.

The meeting offered Fateha for Editor Daily Hilal-e-Pakistan Siraj-ul-Haq Memon, Senior journalist Ayesha Haroon and Editor Daily Sang-e-Meel MR Roohani. The meeting also appreciated the efforts of the CPNE Secretary General Aamir Mehmood in connection with the National Conference held in Karachi on the subject of smooth transfer of power through a democratic method and free and fair general elections.

The following members attended the meeting:

Jamil Athar (Daily Tijarat), Khusnood Ali Khan (Daily Sahafat), Aamir Mehmood (Kiran Digest), Shaheen Qureshi (Jang Group), Rehmat Ali Razi (Daily Azm), Ijaz-ul-Haq (Express Group), Ghulam Ali Chandio (Daily Pak), Mushataq Qureshi (Monthly Nai Ufq), Mustafa Asad Qazi (Daily Ibrat), Naveed Chaudhry (Daily City-42), Mumtaz Tahir (Daily Aftab), Anwar Farooqi (Daily Aghaz), Hashmi (Daily Ummat), Imtiaz Alam (South Asian Journal), Hamid Hussain Abidi (Daily Aman) Dr Jabbar Khattak (Daily Awami Awaz) Salman Qureshi (Naia Rukh), Waheed Jamal (Daily Khabrain), Syed Kamran Mumtaz (Daily Mashriq) and Mubashir Mir (Daily Pakistan Lahore).

The following attended the meeting on special invitation: M Ziauddin (Executive Edior, Express Tribune), Altaf Hasan Qureshi (Editor Urdu Digest), Javed Ahmad (Daily Aitmad), Younus Riaz (Daily Beupar), Humayun Tariq (Daily Business Report) and Abdur Rehman Mangeeu.

The News

Comments are closed.