Ceremony held to honour inspirational women -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Ceremony held to honour inspirational women

Karachi: Inspirational women were presented the 2nd Ladies Fund Women’s Entrepreneurship Awards at the Mohatta palace on Friday evening.

The event, hosted by the Dawood Capital Management, meant to appreciate courageous and inspiring women of the country and recognise their achievements.

The ‘Woman of the Year 2010’ award went to Dr Ruth Pfau for her 50 years of service for the people suffering from leprosy. ‘The Lifetime Achievement Award’ was given to eminent couturier Begum Sughra Kazmi, ‘The Trail blazer Award’ went to Khadija Malik and Kiran Aman for establishing Stillwaters Publishing house.

Another award was given to Lal Majid and Madiha Sultan for launching Pakistan’s first chocolate brand ‘LALS’. Nilofer Saeed was honored with ‘The Momentum Award’ for her introduction of ‘café culture’ in the country along with being an active member, worker and founder of the supporter group of The Citizens Foundation.

Speaking on the occasion, member of the National Assembly Khusbakht Shujat said that every woman should be willing to take part in politics. “There is a capability in every woman to step forward and be active in politics so that the corrupt people who are in power could be removed,” she said, adding that women in the country are not allowed to even exercise their right to vote.

“The women are beaten up and at times buried alive,” Shujat said.

Meanwhile, former Naib Nazim Karachi Nasreen Jalil applauded ratification of the Bill against sexual harassment of women. She said that mindset of the society was changing towards women.

She also appreciated the organisation of the event, saying that gathering like this should not only invite and encourage women from the elite class, but also women from the lower classes, who despite several hindrances, were stepping up and becoming entrepreneurs.

The ceremony was attended by a number by notable persons, such as Barrister Shahida Jameel, Sania Saeed, Rehana Saigol, Nargis Raheem, Vaneeza Ahmed and others.
Source: The News