BD media team visits Information Ministry -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

BD media team visits Information Ministry

ISLAMABAD (APP)A 10-member media delegation from Bangladesh Friday met Secretary Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Syed Anwar Mahmood and exchanged views on matters of mutual interest.

Managing Director Associated Press of Pakistan, Fazalur Rahman Malik, Managing Director PTV Yusuf Baig Mirza, Director General Pakistan Broadcasting Corporation Ashfaq Ahmed Gondal, Director General Internal Publicity Shah Zaman and Director General External Publicity Mansoor Sohail were also present.
Secretary Information informed the visiting delegates about the working of the Ministry and its attached departments and news organisation working under the Ministry.
He emphasised the need for further strengthening bilateral relations between the two brotherly countries and enhance cooperation in the media sector.
The Secretary Information also informed the Bangladesh media delegation about economic turn around in Pakistan and the government efforts regarding socio-economic uplift in various sectors.
He highlighted the government efforts to promote independence of media and growth of media sector and said, the role of the government was of a facilitator.
“Media enjoys unprecedented freedom in Pakistan,” he said and stressed broader cooperation between the two countries.
Syed Anwar Mahmood also highlighted Pakistan’s role in the war against terrorism and its efforts at regional and global level, to curb this menace.
Members of the delegation appreciated government efforts for economic growth, independence of media and encouragement of the electronic media in the private sector.
They also underlined the need for enhanced cooperation between the two countries in the media sector to keep the people abreast of government efforts for socio-economic uplift of the people.
The Bangladesh delegation comprised researchers, columnists, correspondents and editors including Prof. Dr Tareque Shamsur Rahman, Prof. Abdul Bayes, Muhammad Shafiqul Karim, Muhammad Sajjad Hossain, Shah Ahmad Raza and others.
Muhammad Nurul Islam Khan, Abdur Rahman Khan, Muhammad Masudul Hoque Mojumder, Mainul Alam and Ms Lailufar Yasmin.
Source: Nation