Additional judges take oath -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

Additional judges take oath

PESHAWAR: Peshawar High Court Chief Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan administered oath to seven additional judges here on Monday.

The oath-taking ceremony held here was attended by other judges of the high court, members of the subordinate judiciary and scores of lawyers including Supreme Court Bar Association president Qazi Muhammad Anwer, Peshawar High Court Bar Association President Syed Attique shah, its general secretary Muhammad Essa Khan and others.

The newly appointed judges are: Justice Syed Sajjad Hussain Shah, Justice Ziaur Rehman Khan, Justice Sardar Shaukat Hayat, Justice Abdus Samad Khan, Justice Sher Muhammad Khan, Justice Imtiaz Ali and Justice Yahya Khan Afridi.

The seven judges have been appointed by the president under Article 197 of the Constitution. All the new judges belong to the bar and were known figures in the legal fraternity.

With these appointments the number of judges in the high court has risen to 18, two short of the sanctioned strength of 20.
Source: Dawn