14 decorated with national awards on Pakistan Day -Pakistan Press Foundation (PPF)

Paksitan Press Foundtion

14 decorated with national awards on Pakistan Day

PESHAWAR, March 23: In all 14 national awards, including one Sitara-i-Imtiaz, six Presidential Awards of Pride of Performance and seven Tamgha-i-Imtiaz were given to illustrious persons of the province, for their extraordinary achievements in their respective professions, in a ceremony held on the eve of Pakistan Day, at the Governor’s House, here on Monday.

On behalf of the president, NWFP Governor Owais Ahmed Ghani gave away the awards.

Renowned poet and writer, Mukhtiar Ali Khan Parto Roheela was awarded Sitara-i-Imtiaz in recognition of his literary services. In the field of literature, Mohammad Qasim Naseem and in the field of journalism, Abdul Wahid Yousafi were awarded Presidential Award of Pride of Performance, while Omer Nasir was honoured with the same award for his literary works in radio dramas, says a handout.

Similarly, Prof Dr Saqib Ali was honourned with Presidential Award of Pride of Performance for his research services in the field of Chemistry. In the field of Arts, Abdul Rasheed Naz was honoured with Presidential Award of Pride of Performance for his services as drama artist, whereas, Mohammad Gul achieved this honour for his creative services in manufacturing of Swati Shawls.

Late Prof Dr Sabir Kalorvi was awarded Tamgha-i-Imtiaz posthumously for his achievements in Urdu literature, whereas, Dr Sher Zaman Taizai and Prof Dr Salma Shaheen were honoured with this award for their extraordinary achievements in Pashto literature.

Similarly, Prof Dr Wadood Manzar was awarded Tamgha-i-Imtiaz for drama writing. Beside, renowned ultra light aircraft pilot Qazi Tufail was also awarded Tamgha-i-Imtiaz in the field of sports, whereas, Hassan Asad achieved this honour in the field of mountaineering.

In the field of public service, a police officer, Saood Ahmed was honoured with Tamgha-i-Imtiaz.

The ceremony, besides some of the provincial ministers, elected representatives, senior officials, and prominent citizens was also attended by well-wishers of the recipients.
Source: Dawn